Slice 19: My Little Rule Follower

We have this rule about Kennedy’s little blankies and stuffed animals and she’s very well aware. These oh so precious items do not leave the house.

Flashback to yesterday when we were headed to our neighbor’s/”Quaranteam’s” house. But of course, before we left, little Miss K had to pack her bunny “packpack” aka backpack. A little book about bunnies going on an Easter egg hunt made the cut along with a few snacks for her friends. She made sure to count them so there were exactly the right amount. Phew!

K and her daddy walked over a few minutes ahead of me. Upon my arrival, I was a greeted by K saying, “I didn’t know.”

“What didn’t you know?” She proceeded to hold up her beloved blankies. As it turns out, they had been stuffed in the front pouch of her “packpack” and she had no idea.

“I’m sorry, Mommy. I didn’t mean to bring them,” K quickly explained.

“It’s okay, it was an accident. Thank you for telling me. Why do I hold on to them to keep them safe for you?”

“Good idea, Mommy.”

This was quite the unexpected exchange. Oh, the power of our words. The power of clear expectations. Oh, my sweet little rule follower.

2 thoughts on “Slice 19: My Little Rule Follower

  1. So sweet! It reminded me of my then four year old yelling “THANK YOU” while trick or treating because I said I would take any candy that was not followed by a thank you. He got the message. Thanks for the smile!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started